Nats Shock the World, by Winning

After witnessing two epic and fundamental failures at Nationals Park over the last three days, I rested. Well, to be honest, I had tickets to the Potomac Nationals opener, and I consulted weatherman Kyle, and he said I should stay home. So stay home I did, as I stare out the window looking at torrential, and biblical rain.
Oh yeah, the Nationals won. It wasn’t without its typicals National moments, including an error in center field, shaky relief pitching, and walks. But, somehow, somewhat, the Nats prevailed. You have to think that not facing Cole Hamels or Roy Halladay was also a major factor in the victory, but they were facing the same lineup.
Craig Stammen pitched decently, if not spactacularly, allowing quite a few hits but not walking anyone and striking out one. After the previous performances by Lannan and Marquis, he looked Tom Glavine esque. Matt Capps pitched a strong 9th after a leadoff double, and was pumped to get his first save.
Christian Guzman is becoming an issue. Not a bad one, but an issue nonetheless. The man can hit. As much as people tried to convince me that Guzman was horrible and we should be rid of him, I believe my eyes. I say he splits time with Kennedy, and leave Desmond be. If Kennedy gets angry, so be it. I can bet that AK won’t be winning us many games with his bat, and won’t be saving too many with his glove. I think he and Guzman ends up a wash, and I’ll take the bat of Guzman. Ridicule away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Analysis, Post Game

Leave a comment